Tool, Slipknot and Def Leppard will headline Download 2019

The initial announcement also confirms Rob Zombie, Amon Amarth and 15 others for next year's event


Slipknot, Def Leppard and Tool have been announced as the headliners for Download Festival 2019.

The three bands will headline across the traditional weekend of 14-16 June, as Download becomes the first major festival to show its hand for next year.

Twenty bands are confirmed in total today, including long-established heavyweights like Rob Zombie, Trivium and melodic death metal band Amon Amarth.

Symphonic metal group Delain, ska-punk legends Reel Big Fish and guitar hero Slash add variety to the announcement.

There’s also a spot, more controversially, for Die Antwoord, whose hip-hop style is out of step with the bands that usually play the event.

So far, the reaction has been positive, especially to the announcement of a set by Tool on the final night of Sunday 16 June.

Tool haven’t released an album since 2006, but continue to have a huge following, with 1996’s Ænima and 2001’s Lateralus widely considered two of the best metal albums of their respective decades.

Def Leppard will perform on the opening night, playing their 1987 album Hysteria in full and making their only UK appearance of the year, and Slipknot take to the stage on the Friday.

Tickets for Download Festival go on sale on Thursday at 2pm UK time, with a price spike set for 6 November.

The full Download Festival 2019 lineup so far:
  • The Amity Affliction
  • Amon Amarth
  • Carcass
  • Delain
  • Die Antwoord
  • Def Leppard
  • Me First and the Gimme Gimmes
  • Opeth
  • Power Trip
  • Reel Big Fish
  • Rob Zombie
  • Skindred
  • Slash (featuring Myles Kennedy and The Conspirators)
  • Slipknot
  • Starset
  • Tesla
  • Tool
  • Trivium
  • Underoath
  • Whitesnake
Katy Blackwood
Katy Blackwood is the Editor of FEISTY. She's been a self-confessed music geek, stan and encyclopedia since her childhood, loving both new and older sounds alike. Katy started out as a contributor to various magazines before founding FEISTY as an independent, female-led platform for new music.

Hey there, let's keep in touch. Get the latest features, sounds and warm, fuzzy feelings from FEISTY straight to your Twitter feed. (We do Facebook, too.)